Home > Exchange > 北京语言大学 – BLCU

北京语言大学 – BLCU

I am a month behind on posting and I have done alot over the past 6 weeks. I’ll be churning out a post a everyday of what I have done since leaving Singapore.

For the latter half of June and most of July, I took up Chinese at Beijing Language and Culture University [BLCU] (北京语言大学 - pronouced “Beijing Yuyan Daxue”). I took Chinese in Singapore for four months so I had learned some of the basics already (see my previous video post of “我爱汉语!”) Over the past month, I have been able to build on that foundation learning how to communicate to:

  • go places and tell direction
  • tell time, the date, and what I am doing
  • introduce myself and talk about my family
  • order food and talk in a restaurant
  • and more!
The university gave me a Chinese name since I did not have one. The pronounciation is similar to my English name. Yuan AnDi, in Chinese: 元安迪。The meaning of the name is broken down by the three characters with: Yuan (元) meaning first/primary. An (安) meaning peaceful/safe and Di (迪) meaning enlighten.

BLCU is quite a popular university for foreigners. The university is made up of approximately half foreign students and half local students. I took some pictures of the university and my dorm:

First meal off the plane. Sushi!

My dorm

Another shot of the dorm.

Smallest bathroom I have ever seen...smaller than Singapore

Dining Hall - dishes are 6-15RMB ($1-2.50 USD!)

Basketball and Tennis Courts

Gym/Athletic Centre

Going to BLCU has been like doing exchange all over again. I came to Beijing by myself and did not know anyone. On my first day I met two Americans in my placement test and was later introduced to a bunch of them that night.

Some great friendships made that night. (LtoR: Nina, Mason, Eric, Steph, Matt, Tom)

I have done some travelling and sightseeing since arriving in China. More on that soon!

Signing off on this post,

– 元安迪。

Categories: Exchange
  1. MYNt
    August 1, 2011 at 8:09 pm

    I will attended at BLCU this fall and would like to know which dorm did u stay?
    It’s seem really nice, i looked at dorm17 but a bit far away from the 1 building and your room seem really nice! :))))

    • August 2, 2011 at 11:56 am

      Hey, I stayed in Dorm 8. I had friends that lived in Dorm 17 (International Students Dorm) and it is not too bad either!

  2. Ricardo
    August 2, 2011 at 9:25 pm

    i heard that the dorm 17 is the best one, is that right?

    • September 1, 2011 at 2:11 am

      It has alot of students there to meet. I liked dorm 8 but dorm 17 is just as good and has more spaces.

  3. jy
    August 27, 2011 at 2:21 am

    is there a refrigerator in dorm 8?

    • September 1, 2011 at 2:09 am

      Yep, there is a fridge.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

