Home > Exchange > food, food, food

food, food, food

I have been taking it easy since returning from the Philippines last week. Since then, I’ve went on many outings around Singapore with some local friends, and said good-bye to many of my exchange friends. As of tomorrow, I will be one of the only exchange students left here but I will have some company with Trey, an Ivey classmate from home and will be hanging out with some local friends this week before my next trip.

I ate my favourite meal as my last meal on campus – Laksa with vegetables and an ice blended mango strawberry drink.

My favourite meal

16

This past week I have tried some more interesting food. For the first time in four months, I had food in Singapore that was from a restaurant instead of from a hawker centre (food court). Two of my local friends took me to the Bukit Timah Saddle Club for lunch.

Valerie, Pearl and I eating at the Bukit Timah Club

16

I had risotto with scallops and brocoli:

Risotto with Scallops and Broccoli

16

Dessert was intense:

"Death by Chocolate"

16

Later in the week, Ted and Ming-Lai visited from Hong Kong so I took them to Glutton’s Bay, a more upscale hawker centre area in downtown Singapore. I had prawn seasoned with garlic for the first time:

Prawns - $12 SGD each too...

16

My roommate, Ryan, left on Thursday and took us to his uncle’s famous laksa stall in Chinatown. The laksa had seafood in it so for another first, I had crayfish (tasted similar to shrimp):

Seafood Laksa

16

His uncle treated us to dessert. The desserts were asian style:

Longan with Jelly, White Fungus with Red Bean, Bubur Chacha, Ah Boling with Peanut Soup, Almond with Black Glutinous Rice.

16

My last new food item I tried so far this week was duck with Trey. It was more tender than chicken:

Roast Duck

16

I’ll be trying more food next week and doing a bit more sightseeing around Singapore before I leave for Hong Kong!

PS. Here’s an appreciation shout out for all mothers, especially my mom! Happy Mother’s Day!

Categories: Exchange
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

