Home > Exchange > The Lion City’s Hidden Gem

The Lion City’s Hidden Gem

I spent another weekend in Singapore but was kept pretty occupied. On Saturday, my roommate and I went to Pulau Ubin, Singapore’s own mini jungle island just north of the country. To get there, people take a 45 minute subway ride to the north-east end of Singapore and then take a ferry (old tugboat) to the island.

On the island we did bike riding, walked along boardwalk and just checked out some of the nature. Some interesting photos below:

Bike Riding in Pulau Ubin. We took some off road trails too.

Mangroves

Blue Water - site of a previously used quarrie

People walking on the edge of the island?

On the Boardwalk

That evening, I had a group meeting downtown and was also able to catch in the start of Earth Hour in Singapore! I saw the lights turn off at Plaza Singapura, a mall on Orchard Road, Singapore’s premier shopping street. This street beats out Toronto’s Bloor and Vancouver’s Robson by a mile. Everything is so well maintained, well-lit (well not during Earth Hour) and just perfect.

BEFORE: Earth Hour, Plaza Singapura on Orchard Road

AFTER: Earth Hour, Plaza Singapura on Orchard Road

New Food:

I tried something new this weekend when I went for a lunch with my host buddy from Singapore. We went to a Japanese restaurant and I had a Yakitori Set. To be honest, I was actually expecting sushi especially since I have not had it since coming to Singapore. However, the set was a nice change and it was really good! I’m not a big fan of mushrooms but the mushrooms in this set were delicious.

Yakitori Set

I’ve got another busy week ahead with more group projects (it’s their main form of evaluation here), but I’m starting not to mind the projects as its been a great way to get to know my classmates better.

Categories: Exchange
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

